Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
Quantity:
Subtotal
Taxes
Shipping
Total
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Lucy West Art

Space Art Gallery

The Brush Strokes of Star Birth / 2012 (title credit Phil Plait)

« Back to Album Photo 38 of 61 Previous | Next
The Brush Strokes of Star Birth / 2012 (title credit Phil Plait)
SOLD / Original $3,500 / Acrylic on canvas 30" x 48" / Prints available. Featured in Ron Miller's celebrated book, "The Art of Space". Featured on Phil Plait's Bad Astronomy/Discover Magazine blog 2012. Chosen for Phil Plait's 2012 Best Astronomy Images / Slate Magazine. 'The Brush Strokes of Star Birth' takes 1st place in 'Space and Astronomy Art Contest' held in Fine Art America, October 2012. Description: The Brush Strokes of Star Birth is a rendering of a nebula cataloged as Sharpless 2-106. It is gorgeous star-forming region located in the constellation Cygnus, a dynamic nebula stretching approximately two light years across, which is small in comparison to the famous Orion Nebula M42 that stretches approximately 24 light years across. The bright star in the middle of the nebula surrounded by a cocoon of hourglass-shaped dark gases is definitely the "star" of the show. It's newly born energy is so intense that it has heated up the surrounding gases to 10,000 degrees Celsius causing them to glow in seemingly winged beauty. When I discovered the Hubble Space Telescope wide field image of S-106 IR, I couldn't take my eyes off the amazing little powerhouse. I was compelled to learn more about it and render it on canvas. Many thanks to astronomer Nick Howes for sharing his image of Sh2-106 which I also used for reference while working on this piece. Progression of the canvas work can be viewed at "In The Studio". Copyright 2012 Lucy West / All Rights Reserved. Contact Lucy West for information regarding image use.
Posted on September 14, 2012

Post a Comment

Oops!

Oops, you forgot something.

Oops!

The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In

773 Comments

Reply Poultry Slaughtering Equipment
5:01 AM on August 14, 2022 
Reply Mobile Portable Camping Box for Toilet
9:10 AM on August 13, 2022 
China Miniature Angular Contact Bearings Factory - 7000 angular contact ball bearing 10x26x8 bearing 7000AC 7000B - Nice Bearing https://www.hzkbearings.com/china-miniature-angular-contact-beari
ngs-factory-7000-angular-contact-ball-bearing-10x26x8-bearing-700
0ac-7000b-nice-bearing-4-product/
Mobile Portable Camping Box for Toilet https://www.crvaa.com/mobile-portable-camping-box-for-toilet.html
Reply double wire type clip
9:14 PM on August 12, 2022 
Solid Flat Wire 2 Cores Copper Wire PVC Electric Wire Cable https://www.sdldcable.com/solid-flat-wire-2-cores-copper-wire-pvc
-electric-wire-cable.html
double wire type clip https://www.theonehoseclamp.com/double-wire-type-clip/
Reply Super Dry Adult Pants with Leak Guard
3:26 PM on August 12, 2022 
Factory Supply Steel Clamp - Single Ear Hose Clamp - TheOne https://www.theonehoseclamp.com/factory-supply-steel-clamp-single
-ear-hose-clamp-theone-product/
Super Dry Adult Pants with Leak Guard https://www.hiya-care.com/super-dry-adult-pants-with-leak-guard.h
tml
Reply Oval Two-Tone Stainless-Steel RV Yacht Sink
11:08 AM on August 11, 2022 
100 Pure Peppermint Oil https://www.jxbaicao.com/100-pure-peppermint-oil/
Oval Two-Tone Stainless-Steel RV Yacht Sink https://www.crvaa.com/oval-two-tone-stainless-steel-rv-yacht-sink
.html
Reply Disposable Baby Pull Up Diaper
3:07 AM on August 11, 2022 
Reply Forming Mesh Fabric for Test Liner Paper Machine Forming Section
11:36 PM on August 10, 2022 
Screws https://www.qj-fastener.com/screws/
Forming Mesh Fabric for Test Liner Paper Machine Forming Section https://www.fareast-fabric.com/forming-mesh-fabric-for-test-liner
-paper-machine-forming-section.html
Reply Blended Plastic Semi Finished Lens
9:20 PM on August 10, 2022 
Reply Camping Kitchen Table With Storage
3:54 PM on August 10, 2022 
Oval Two-Tone Stainless-Steel RV Yacht Apartment Sink https://www.crvaa.com/oval-two-tone-stainless-steel-rv-yacht-apar
tment-sink.html
Camping Kitchen Table With Storage https://www.protuneoutdoor.com/camping-kitchen-table-with-storage
/
Reply Algae Counting
6:00 AM on August 10, 2022 
Breathable Backseet Baby Pants Diaper Pull Up https://www.hiya-care.com/breathable-backseet-baby-pants-diaper-p
ull-up.html
Algae Counting https://www.countstar.com/algae-counting-tag/
Reply Work Alexa Google Assistant Wifi Smart Switch
7:53 AM on August 9, 2022 
Chain Link Fence https://www.fengyuanmetal.com/chain-link-fence/
Work Alexa Google Assistant Wifi Smart Switch https://www.zcpvelec.com/work-alexa-google-assistant-wifi-smart-s
witch.html
Reply 3-Amino-4-methylpyridine CAS 3430-27-1
5:16 AM on August 9, 2022 
Reply Rigid Foam Sheet
7:39 PM on August 8, 2022 
Reply Cash Register Thermal Printer
1:25 PM on August 8, 2022 
Reply ITO Conductive Glass Coating Equipment
7:37 AM on August 8, 2022 
100% Original Factory Spring Roll Production Line - Industrial Automatic Corn Flakes Extruder Corn flakes making Machine Price - Dongxuya https://www.cndongxuya.com/100-original-factory-spring-roll-produ
ction-line-industrial-automatic-corn-flakes-extruder-corn-flakes-
making-machine-price-dongxuya-5-product/
ITO Conductive Glass Coating Equipment https://www.krvac.com/ito-conductive-glass-coating-equipment.html
Reply Sunglasses for man
5:38 PM on August 7, 2022 
Reply 1,1-Bis(hydroxymethyl)cyclopropane CAS 39590-81-3
3:48 AM on August 7, 2022 
Chronic Fatigue Treatment https://www.nnbnutrition.com/chronic-fatigue-treatment-tag/
1,1-Bis(hydroxymethyl)cyclopropane CAS 39590-81-3 https://www.believechemical.com/1-1-bis-hydroxymethyl-cyclopropan
e-cas-39590-81-3.html
Reply Mega Greens Superfood
11:35 PM on August 6, 2022 
Pod System Ultra Portable Vaporizer Kit VaporDNA To USA https://www.ternovape.com/pod-system-ultra-portable-vaporizer-kit
-vapordna-to-usa.html
Mega Greens Superfood https://www.nnbnutrition.com/mega-greens-superfood-tag/
Reply Conventional Relay Sockets
7:09 PM on August 6, 2022 
Reply Round Ottoman Oak Base
5:23 AM on August 6, 2022 
Four Person Solid Wood Far-infrared Dry Steam Room https://www.langtecn.com/four-person-solid-wood-far-infrared-dry-
steam-room.html
Round Ottoman Oak Base https://www.zjnottinghill.com/round-ottoman-oak-base/